For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. This page is also available as Markdown.

Manage users (new experience)

The content on this page is temporary and subject to change. These changes are currently being rolled out, so you'll see them in your site soon. When the changes become generally available, this content will be merged into the main documentation.

We're redesigning the Administration > Users > [user] page to make managing users easier. While it looks different, most functionality is unchanged. Similar improvements will be rolled out across other areas of Administration in future releases.

Edit user experience

In the new experience, a user's account opens in a window overlay rather than a page.

On the User, Profile, and CRM restrictions tabs, click Edit to make changes, then click Apply to apply those changes. On other tabs, any changes you make apply immediately.

Previous version of the User tab
New version of the User tab

Specific changes to each tab are outlined below.

User tab

The functionality of this tab, where you update the user’s details, license, and main permissions, remains the same.

1. Updated settings

  • The full IANA timezone list is now available. Previously, the Timezone list was limited.

  • We removed the Detailed logs checkbox because it is no longer required. Logs are automatically recorded for all users in an organization.

2. Moved actions

  • We moved the Impersonate and Reset password buttons from the top-right corner to the bottom-left corner to keep these less frequently used actions out of the way.

Key changes to the Users tab

Profile tab

Previously, to view or change a user's profile settings, you had to open their profile on a separate page.

Now, the Profile tab lets you:

  1. View the user's permissions if they have an organization profile. You can't edit these permissions because they can be shared by multiple users.

  2. Edit the user's permissions if they have a user-specific profile.

  3. Assign a different organization profile.

  4. Access the organization profile page, where you can edit its name and permissions.

Edit a user's profile

These steps replace those on Profiles > Assign a profile to a user.

  1. Open the user's account and select the Profile tab.

  2. Click Edit.

  3. Choose the type of profile to assign:

    • Organization profile: Select An organization profile, then select the profile from the list. The page updates to display the permissions assigned to that profile.

    • User-specific profile: Select A user-specific profile. A new profile is created using the user's name and is pre-populated with the permissions from the previously assigned organization profile (where applicable). Select or clear permissions as required.

  4. Click Apply.

  5. Continue editing the user's account or click the X to close the window and return to the Users page.

User assigned the Viewer organization profile

Edit an organization profile

If a user is assigned an organization profile, you can edit that profile without leaving the user's account.

User assigned the Basic organization profile

These steps replace those on Profiles > Edit a profile from a user's page.

  1. Open the user's account and select the Profile tab.

  2. Click Edit.

  3. Click Edit profile. The profile page opens in a new browser tab.

    Editing the Basic profile via a user's account
  4. On the profile page, edit the profile name and user permissions as required.

  5. Click Save > Close. The main Profiles page opens.

  6. Return to the Users browser tab to continue editing the user's account.

Databases tab

You can manage a user's database access and restrictions in several areas of Administration. This section describes the new workflow on the Databases tab in a user's account. Similar changes will be rolled out to other areas of Administration in future releases.

We redesigned this tab to make it easier to manage database access and restrictions. Changes continue to save automatically.

1. Updated database list: You can now sort the list of databases by any column. We removed the database reorder arrows, as they were rarely used.

2. Simpler database access: Instead of selecting a period to grant access to a database, you now use a checkbox.

3. Redesigned the restrictions settings to make them easier to understand and manage:

  • You can see dimension, measure, and stream restrictions at a glance so they're easier to review before you apply changes.

  • You can quickly see which dimensions have restrictions and how many restrictions they have.

  • You can see if restrictions are inherited from the database (default database restrictions) or are specific to the user.

New design of the Databases tab
New design of the Restrictions window

Manage database access within a user's account

These steps replace those on Manage a user's database access and restrictions.

  1. Open the user's account and select the Databases tab.

  2. Review the current access and restrictions:

    • If the checkbox is selected, the user has access to the database.

    • The lock icon indicates whether restrictions have been applied. An unlocked icon means no restrictions have been applied. A locked icon means one or more restrictions have been applied.

  3. Manage the user's database access:

    • Give access: Select the checkbox. A default period is assigned automatically.

    • Remove access: Clear the checkbox.

    • Change the default period: Select a different period from the list.

  4. Manage the user's database restrictions:

    1. Click the lock icon to open the restrictions window.

    2. Select Specific to this user.

    3. Select or clear the measures, streams, and dimensions the user can access.

    4. To restrict access to specific dimension entities:

      1. Select a dimension.

      2. Choose whether entities must match all or any of the criteria.

      3. Click Add.

      4. Define the restriction criteria.

      5. Repeat these steps to add more restrictions, if required.

    5. Click OK.


CRM restrictions

The functionality of this tab remains the same, but we redesigned it to match the changes introduced elsewhere.

To avoid unwanted changes, we replaced the Edit > Save > Close workflow with Edit > Apply or Revert > Close.

New design of the CRM restrictions tab

Other tabs

These tabs have been visually updated but are functionally the same.

Tab
Changes

Favorites

Visual refresh only

Dashboards

Visual refresh only

Settings

Visual refresh only

Usage

Visual refresh only

Query log

Visual refresh only

Last updated