Save and share favorites
Save your Analytics analysis points and insights as favorites and share them with your team.
Favorites and dashboards are two of the key features of Phocas.
Related information: Add an analysis point as a widget on a dashboard.
When you change your view of the grid, filter the data, or create a chart during your analysis, you can save that view as a favorite. You can save multiple favorites and easily switch from one to another for quick access to the information that you need.
Update your favorites as your needs change over time and share your favorites with your team for easier collaboration.
After you save a favorite, other actions become available.
Save a favorite
After you save a favorite, other actions become available. These actions require additional user permissions.
Save a new favorite
Open a database in Analytics and carry out your analysis (grid or chart view), then click the blue arrow next to the database name and select Save as favorite.
Configure the favorite's settings. The available settings depend on your user permissions.
Owner: Your name is selected by default, as you are saving the favorite. To transfer ownership, select a different user.
Favorite: The New option is selected by default.
Name and Description: Enter a name (required) and an optional description.
Period:
The Current option (with your active period in brackets) is selected by default. This is whatever period was selected in the Period menu when you saved the favorite.
You can change this to Default or select a default period.
Use offset dates to make your favorites dynamic, which means they automatically update each time they are opened.
If you're sharing the favorite, note that other users might have a different default period.
Folders and Users: By default, your favorite isn't shared. You can assign it to folders or share it with specific users. See Sharing and folders.
Click Save.

Save a favorite based on an existing favorite
Use this method to create a variation of any favorite, whether it's been shared with you or one you've saved yourself.
Open the favorite and make your changes, then click the blue arrow next to the favorite name and select Save as new favorite.
Update the settings and click Save.

Edit a favorite
You can modify and re-save (overwrite) your own favorites. You can't overwrite a favorite shared with you, unless you use the Save as new favorite method described above.
Edit a favorite's name, description, or owner
You might want to change the name or description of one of your favorites or transfer the ownership so that another user can manage it. Changing the owner is especially important if you leave the business because if your Phocas account is deleted, the favorites you created will no longer be available to other users.
You can quickly edit a favorite's name, description, and owner from your homepage. Locate the favorite and click its menu button, then click Edit. Make your changes and click Save.
You can also edit these details from within the favorite, as described in the next section.

Edit a favorite's contents
Editing the contents of a favorite is similar to saving a new one. For example, suppose you saved a favorite with a list of 10 key accounts and now want to add another account.
Open the favorite.
Modify that favorite as required. For example, you might select and focus on another dimension.
Click the blue arrow next to the favorite name and select Save.

Edit the favorite's name, description, and other settings as required. Phocas recognizes you're modifying an existing favorite and displays these saved settings for you.
Click Save. The contents of the existing favorite are modified, but the other settings remain the same (unless you changed them too).
Share a favorite
Read the Sharing and folders page to learn about how sharing works.
Typically, you share a favorite when you create it. At the bottom of the Favorite window, select the checkboxes of the required folders and users, then click Save.

You can also share a favorite from your homepage. Locate the favorite, then click its menu button and click Share. In the Share window, select the required users and/or folders, then click Save.

Share an embeddable link
You can generate a link for embedding a favorite into another website (such as an intranet, or another product) for authenticated users to view.
Subscribe to a favorite
You can subscribe to a favorite to receive email notifications whenever the underlying data updates.
See Subscriptions.

Add a favorite to the dashboard
Favorites are a great way to add content to a dashboard. The favorite, which can be in a grid or chart view, is displayed inside a dashboard widget. See Add a favorite as a widget for steps.
Create an alert from a favorite
Alerts are favorites that are configured with color coding to help you monitor performance against set targets. They are displayed on your homepage, where the color identifies items that require your immediate attention. See Use alerts for more information.
Delete a favorite
You can delete the favorites that you create (own).
On your homepage, locate the favorite, click its menu button, and then click Delete > Delete. You can restore it within 45 days from the Deleted items tab.
If you have many shared favorites cluttering your homepage, rather than deleting them, use the grid filters to remove them from view.
Last updated



