Save and share favorites
Save your analysis points and insights as favorites and share them with your team.
Favorites are one of the key features of Phocas.
When you change your view of the grid or filter the data during your analysis, you can save that view as a favorite. You can save multiple favorites and easily switch from one to another for quick access to the information that you need.
Learn about favorites in Flex Modes
Favorites work a little differently in Flex Modes than in Analytics.
Flex favorites on your homepage
In Flex Modes, saved favorites are sometimes referred to as Flex favorites to distinguish them from Analytics favorites. On your homepage and side navigation menu, Flex favorites have a different icon. In this page, the term favorite refers to favorites saved in Flex Modes unless otherwise specified.

Updates
When you make changes to an existing favorite, a pink badge appears on the Favorite controls button
to remind you to either:

When you click the actions arrow, the available options are grouped under headings: Favorite, Alert, Dashboards, and Administration. Only the groups that apply to the item you have open are shown. For example, opening an alert created from a favorite shows both the Favorite and Alert groups together.
Permissions and sharing
All database permissions and restrictions still apply in Flex Modes, regardless of whether you're using a favorite or who created it.
Unlike Analytics, standard favorites user permissions don't currently apply in Flex Modes. Users can only manage favorites they own.
Favorite owner
The person who created the favorite can:
View the favorite
Update the favorite
Delete the favorite
Share the favorite
Create a new favorite based on it
Users the favorite is shared with automatically see updates and lose access if the favorite is deleted.
Viewers
When a favorite is shared with a user, they can:
View the favorite
Create a new favorite based on it
They can't update, delete, or share the favorite.
Dynamic periods
Favorites saved with dynamic periods automatically update over time.
For example:
If Period 1 is set to Last month and you save the favorite in December, the favorite displays November data.
When you open the same favorite in January, Period 1 still shows Last month, but the data updates to December.
Save a new favorite
Open a database in Flex Modes and carry out your analysis.
Do one of the following:
Click the actions arrow next to the database name and select Save as favorite.
Click the Save as favorite button
on the toolbar.
Enter a name for the favorite and click Save.

After saving:
The favorite name appears next to the database name.
The favorite button changes to a full heart icon.

Save a favorite based on an existing favorite
Use this option to create a variation of an existing favorite, including one shared with you. This creates a separate new favorite.
Click either:
the actions arrow next to the favorite name, or
the Favorite controls button

Click Save as new favorite.
Enter a name.
Click Save.
Update a favorite
Use this option to overwrite a favorite you own with your latest changes.
Click either:
the actions arrow next to the favorite name, or
the Favorite controls button

Click Update favorite.
Optionally change the favorite name.
Click Save.
Share a favorite
Flex Modes has a basic permissions and sharing model, so use caution when sharing favorites.
You can share favorites you own with selected users. Shared users can view the favorite but can’t edit or manage it.
Click the Favorite controls button
.Click Share favorite.
Select the users to share with.
Click Save.
Subscribe to a favorite
You can subscribe to a favorite to receive email notifications whenever the underlying data updates.
See Manage subscriptions.
Delete a favorite
You can delete favorites you own from either of these locations:
From within the favorite:
Either click the actions arrow next to the favorite name or click the Favorite controls button
, then click Delete favorite > Delete.
From your homepage:
Locate the favorite, click its menu button, and then click Delete > Delete.
From within the favorite: Either click the blue arrow next to the favorite name or click the Favorite controls button
, then click Delete favorite > Delete.
From your homepage: Locate the favorite, click its menu button, and then click Delete > Delete.
Last updated
